Saturday, October 06, 2012

Love Languages

I learned awhile ago that there are 5 love languages.  Physical touch, acts of service, gifts, words of affirmation and quality time.  It is so important to me to meet the needs of my children and my husband.  Most of us offer to others the love languages that we would like to receive. There is no such thing as "I love you all the same."  It becomes a lesson in frustration when you don't love others the way they need to be loved.

Joshua enjoys quality time and words of affirmation.
Sarah loves giving and receiving gifts and acts of service.
Nathan needs physical touch and words of affirmation.
Tim I do believe is words of affirmation although it might take until he is 8 to figure that out.

What a joy as a mom to finally know what makes my children feel love from me!!


Brenda said...

Great post. What about your love language? I felt that I had finally matured a bit when I realized that love languages also applied to me. It helped me to realize that I was at times needing something that my loved one wasn't able to give. It really helped me to not be mad/frustrated with him!

Carla said...

My love language is physical touch and Patrick's is quality time.


Carla said...

But I also am words of affirmation, quality time, gifts and acts of service. :)

Just love me.

Brenda said...

I can usually tell when I have been falling short with those acts of love: family life seems strained. When I treat those I love with concrete acts of love, everyone softens and harmony returns!

erin said...

Receiving gifts and words of affirmation for me. Both my languages require someone giving to me. That's hard to ask for sometimes.